Samsung Carries Out Massive Reshuffle

Promotes 8, including Kwon Oh-hyun, Samsung Electronics president in charge of overall component products, and Jung Yeon-joo, president of Samsung C&T










Samsung Business Group on Dec. 7 conducted a regular reshuffle affecting 17 CEOs of its affiliated firms, including Kwon Oh-hyun, Samsung Electronics president in charge of overall component products, and Jung Yeon-joo, president & CEO of Samsung C&T, who each have been promoted to vice chairman.
The reshuffle led to the expanding of a bevy of vice chairmen who assist Samsung Group Chairman Lee Kun-hee and the replacing of the CEOs of three of the group's affiliated companies.
The eight promotions in the latest personnel change is smaller compared to the 11 who were promoted in 2010, but the actual number is similar because four CEOs were promoted prior to the regular reshuffle.
Samsung Electronics promoted Kwon to vice chairman in charge of overall component production, setting up a two-top management system with Vice Chairman Choi Gee-sung, who currently oversees finished products.
Vice Chairman Kwon has been credited with his contribution to fortifying the global No. 1 memory maker's international standing since he took office as Samsung Electronics' president in charge of the overall semiconductor sector in 2008.
Vice Chairman Jung has been praised for building up a solid foundation for growth in the global market since he took the helm at Samsung C&T last year. He had been credited with ramping up the global competitiveness of Samsung Engineering, of which he had been in charge for seven years.
Seven executive vice presidents were promoted to president & chief executive officer. They are Kim Bong-young, executive vice president of Samsung SDS, and Kim Chang-soo, executive vice president of Samsung C&T, who have been promoted to head Everland and Samsung Fire & Marine Insurance, respectively. Choi Chi-joon, executive vice president of Samsung Electro-Mechanics (SEM), has become the first CEO to climb up the hierarchy of SEM. Lee Dong-hwie, executive vice president of Samsung C&T, has been promoted to president of Samsung BP Chemicals. Yoon Jin-hyuk, executive vice president of Samsung Japan, has been promoted to S1 president, while Lee Cheol-hwan, executive vice president of Samsung Electronics' mobile business, has become the first R&D officer-turned president in the business division.
The four CEOs have been transferred. Kang Ho-moon, vice chairman of Samsung China, was tapped as Samsung Electronics' vice chairman in charge of overseas cooperation, while SME President Park Jong-woo has been moved to head Cheil Industries as its president. Kim Seok, president of Samsung Asset Management and Park Joon-hyun, president of Samsung Securities, swapped positions. nw

(from left, first row) Samsung Electronics Vice Chairman Kwon Oh-hyun,; Samsung C&T Vice Chairman Jung Yeon-joo,; Samsung Everland President Kim Bong-young,; Samsung Fire & Marine President Kim Chang-soo,; S1 President Yoon Jin-hyuk,; Samsung Electronics President in Mobile Business R&D Lee Cheol-hwan,; and Samsung BP Chemicals President Lee Dong-hwie and SEM President Choi Chi-joon. The new Samsung Electronics executive vice presidents are (from left, second row) Koh Dong-jin, Kim Ki-sun, Kim Sang-woo, Kim Ju-nyun, Kim Joon-shik, Kim Chang-yong, Kim Hun-bae, Kim Hyun-seok, (from left, third row) Park Doo-ui, Park Jae-soon, Bae Kyung-tae, Sohn Tae-il, Song Hyo-jung, Shim Soo-ok, Ok Kyung-seok, Choi Woo-soo, (from left, fourth row) Won Ki-chan, Yoon Chang-hyun, Lee Sun-young, Lee Yoon-tae, Chung Tae-sung, Cho Seung-hwan, and Chi Jae-wan.
Photos on courtesy of Samsung

Copyright(c) 2003 Newsworld All rights reserved.
3Fl, 292-47, Shindang 6-dong, Chung-gu, Seoul, Korea 100-456
Tel : 82-2-2235-6114 / Fax : 82-2-2235-0799